Kandy SC declared League champs


Reigning champions Kandy Sports Club were declared as the Nippon Paint Inter Club Rugby League champions for yet another year by Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR).

Due to the present situation in the country, the league was halted with two matches remaining to complete the tournament. The vital game between unbeaten Kandy and second placed Havelock was forced to be cancelled because of the crisis. 

Kandy won all their games (8 out of 8) and were leading the points table with 45 points, while second placed Havelock lost only to Kandy SC in the first-round to end with 40 points.

The decision to declare Kandy SC as the champions was taken at an emergency Council meeting of SLC held on 22 May. In the Plate segment, Navy Sports Club was declared champions.

Meanwhile, the Council has also decided to hold the AGM on 27 August, and approved an independent body (National Olympic Council) to conduct the AGM as per the SLR constitution, with observers from Sports Ministry, World Rugby, Asia Rugby and Asia Olympic Committee. 

Nilfer appointed 7s head coach

SLRs recommendation to replace Nilfer Ibrahim with Kandy coach Fazil Marija as the National sevens coach for the Commonwealth Games has been refused by Sri Lanka National Olympic Committee (NOC), since the recommendation was made after the closing date.

NOC confirmed new changes cannot be accommodated due to Marija’s name not appearing in the long list.

On a request made by President Rizly Illyas, former Sri Lanka coach and current Fiji coach Ben Gollings has promised to conduct virtual training programmes for the coaches to assist SLR. 

By Asanka Gammanpila