India women to play limited -over series in Sri Lanka in June


India women’s cricket team is all set to tour Sri Lanka for 3 ODIs and as many T20Is in June. This will be their first international assignment after the 50-over World Cup in New Zealand earlier this year.

The Indian team is scheduled to tour Sri Lanka from 23 June to 7 July.

The BCCI senior selection committee for women will meet to pick the squads for the upcoming tour. It is expected that the selection committee will name a new ODI captain.

Legendary Mithali Raj, who led India at the World Cup earlier this year, hasn’t announced retirement but the board seems to be looking ahead. Both Mithali and senior pacer Jhulan Goswami were not named in the squads for the upcoming Women’s T20 Challenge, starting 23 May in Pune. Deepti Sharma replaced Mithali as the captain of the Velocity team.

As reported earlier, Ramesh Powar will retain his job as the head coach and travel to Sri Lanka with the Indian team. Notably, Powar’s role was questioned after India suffered an early exit from the World Cup, failing to make the semi-final, agonizingly losing to South Africa in their final league game.

It remains to be seen if Jemimah Rodrigues and fast bowler Shikha Pandey will return to the limited-over sides. Shikha is also not part of any of the three squads for the Women’s T20 Challenge.