Samarawickrama sworn in as MP


S. Jagath Samarawickrama took oaths before Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena yesterday (19), to fill the vacancy created by the death of SLPP Polonnaruwa District MP Amarakeerthi Athukorala.

After being sworn in he signed the Member’s Roll before Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake.

Athukorala was killed on 9 May, during the recent violence. After his demise, Samarawickrama was gazetted as an MP for the said electoral district by the Election Commission on 17 May.

Samarawickrama  is a past pupil of Kaudawa National School, Moneragala and Siripura Central College. He served as the Chairman of the Dimbulagala Pradeshiya Sabha from 2008 to 2015. He is also currently the SLPP Chief Organiser of the Dimbulagala, Welikanda and Degodapattuwa. He was ranked fifth based on the number of votes he received in the Polonnaruwa District during the last General Election.

BY Methmalie Dissanayake