CID records statements from Rohitha, C.B and Sanjeewa


The Criminal Investigations Department (CID) has recorded statements from three more Parliamentarians, over the violence that transpired on 09 May in Colombo, near Galle Face and Temple Trees.

Accordingly, statements have been obtained from Sri Lanka Podujana Permauna (SLPP) MPs Rohitha Abeygunawardena, C.B. Ratnayake and Sanjeewa Edirimanne, Police Spokesman SSP Nihal Thalduwa confirmed.

Moreover, he added that the eight other suspects arrested in connection with the incident, including Moratuwa Mayor Saman Lal Fernando and Dan Priyasad, are due to be produced before court today (19).

Meanwhile, SLPP MPs Sanath Nishantha and Milan Jayatilleke, who were arrested on Tuesday (17) were remanded till 25 May, while the CID also recorded a statement from Senior DIG in charge of the Western Province, DeshabanduTennakoon.