SLPP MPs Arrested


SLPP MPs Sanath Nishantha and Milan Jayathilake were arrested by the Criminal Investigation Department (CID) last evening (17), in connection with the attack on anti-Government protesters by a group of SLPP supporters.

The CID also recorded a statement from Western Province SDIG Deshabandu Tennakoon in connection with the incident yesterday (17).

Meanwhile, the CID informed the Speaker of Parliament that statements would be recorded from seven MPs in connection with the attack on peaceful protesters in Galle Face and opposite Temple Trees.

Further, former Provincial Councillor Amal Silva and an employee of the Moratuwa Municipal Council, who were arrested in this connection, were remanded till today (18).

The Attorney General on Monday (16) directed the IGP and CID Director to arrest 22 individuals, including SLPP MPs Johnston Fernando and Sanath Nishantha and produce them in Court as soon as possible, in connection with the attack by SLPP supporters on peaceful anti-Government protesters, if there is reasonable suspicion for doing so.

SLPP MPs Milan Jayathilake, Sanjeeva Ediramanna, Moratuwa Mayor Saman Lal Fernando, Mahinda Kahandagama, Dan Priyasad and Western Province SDIG Deshabandu Tennakoon were also among those named in the letter.

BY Faadhila Thassim