Voting currently underway to elect new Deputy Speaker


Members of Parliament are currently voting to elect a new Deputy Speaker of House.

The secret vote was called after two names were proposed for the vacant post made available after former Deputy Speaker Ranjith Siyambalapitiya tendered his resignation.

The opposition proposed the name of Matale District Parliamentarian Rohini Kumari Wijerathna to provide an opportunity for a female MP, while the government proposed the name of Hambanthota District MP Ajith Rajapakse.