Ajith Rajapakse elected as new Deputy Speaker


Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna Parliamentarian (SLPP) Ajith Rajapakse has been elected as the new Deputy Speaker of House.

He was elected to the post with 109 votes while MP Rohini Kumari Wijerathna who was also nominated for the post obtained 78 votes.

23 votes were rejected.

The secret vote was called after two names were proposed for the vacant position.

Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa nominated Kaviratne for the post, while the government nominated Rajapakse.


  1. Facial features of Rajapaksa clan, no doubt and that, my friends in SL, is a deadly face. We in this part of the world truly gawk at the lack of intelligence these leaders show. A Rajapaksa AGAIN??????????

Comments are closed.