Parliament convenes today under new PM


Parliament convened today (17) at 10.00 am under the newly appointed Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

Leader of the United National Party Ranil Wickremesinghe took oaths as the country’s Prime Minister for the sixth occasion on 12 May following the resignation of Mahinda Rajapaksa from the post.

The UNP Leader Ranil Wickremesinghe will take the seat allocated for the Prime Minister within the Parliament chamber today.

Meanwhile, Parliament will elect a new Deputy Speaker this morning since Ranjith Siyambalapitiya’s resignation. The names of Ajith Rajapakse and Rohini Kumari Wijerathna have been proposed for the post.

Further, the No-Confidence Motion tabled against the President is also scheduled to be taken up in Parliament today.

Security has been beefed up in and around Parliament for safety purposes, while military and Police personnel are also on duty in the vicinity of Parliament.