Hello everyone! Here we are again with another book review. Yet this time it’s not just one book but a series. This series consists of five novels namely; Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, Percy Jackson and the Sea Of Monsters, Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse, Percy Jackson and the Battle of the Labyrinth and Percy Jackson and the Last Olympian.

I happened to read this series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan, for the first time when I was a kid and I remember how well I enjoyed reading the series. Frankly, even as a grown up, I still receive the same level of fun and excitement when I re-read the series. Perhaps now I enjoy them even more than I used to as I now have a deeper insight into the plot. 

Let’s take a look into the series!

Adventure, fantasy, humour and much more

The plot is basically about a teenager named Percy Jackson who is suddenly revealed to be a demi-god whose father is said to be the Greek God of Ocean, Poseidon, by his mom, Sally. Percy is then sent to the camp half-blood, where he learns to become a hero despite his ADHD and mal performance at school.

Percy and his friends, basically Annabeth who is a daughter of Goddess Athena and Grover who is a satyr, are made to go on quests to restore world peace, save the camp and much more. They get to fight against numerous monsters and creatures and even Gods of Greek mythology in their long and adventurous journeys!

These stories never lack adventure, fun and excitement as well as bursts of humour which altogether make the whole series mind-blowing. Indeed I am in no position to comment on Rick Riordan’s exceptional writing skills.

Perfect to learn Greek Mythology

This set or New York’s Bestseller novels are completely based on Greek Mythology and the facts are almost accurate except for the few places where Riordan changes the actual stories to accommodate modernity. So don’t fall into his trap when it says that Kronos was made to puke with peanut butter!

However the legends about Olympians, Titans and monsters like Minotaur, Hippocampi, Giants and Centaurs are precise. If you do your own research on these stories, you will realise that they are mostly re-creations of ancient Greek epics where heroes like Heracles, Achilles and so on go on laborious missions to defeat evil and save the world on behalf Gods. To be honest these books are where I had my first Western Classical Culture-where we learn about Greek and Roman cultures-lessons.

Love, family and friendship

These stories are a perfect blend of love, family and friendship. Percy who doesn’t have many friends at school, gets subjected bullying and even gets suspended is a lone kid with a lot of self insecurities. Yet once he gets into the camp half-blood, he finds out that he is accepted there, (not to mention the initial hostility of the campers when Poseidon first claims to be Percy’s father) despite all odds. Moreover the camp becomes his chosen family while Sally, his mother continues to be the real family. The sense of belongingness, love for family and loyalty demonstrated in the stories are indeed overwhelming for me.

Then, the most amazing thing for me, friendship. The two best friends Percy makes during his debut quest, Annabeth and Grover prove to be the best of best. It is thrilling to see how they never cease hold hands through thick and thins. Worse the situation is firmer their grip gets. Above all I noticed the emotional support they provide to each other which is really overwhelming to see. I myself am reminded of my friends who always have my back, whenever I read this series.

The aspect of love in the stories does not confine to Romance but expands in various forms such as love for friends, love for family, love for nature and above all love for the whole world which makes the young heroes face and overcome any challengesuccessfully.

For everyone 

Although Percy Jackson and the Olympians is pretty much recommended for young adults, I believe that it does not have age restrictions. Kids as well as adults who usually don’t read the “lame fantasy stuff” as many put it, will also have fun reading this series. The main reason for that is that the stories are fabricated with several layers to address different audiences.

For kids, the series is just an action packed fantasy with sudden bursts of humour. Or in other terms, a series of stories where good fights against the bad and restore the world peace at the end.Also, the stories leave much space for imagination and thought, perfectly capturing the young audience.

Nonetheless the teenagers or the young adults trace some layers beyond that and catch the emotional aspect of the stories which deal with anger, happiness, love and joy. Percy, Annabeth and Grover, the three main characters being teens make it easy for the teen readers to relate the stories to their life. How this trio become family is heart-warming. Moreover it reminds readers that there is a place for everyone in this world.

And as an adult, there is much more to ponder over in these stories. I will leave that part un-discussed so that you can discover it on your own.

“If my life is going to mean anything, I have to live it myself.”

– Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief So cheers to a fun reading!

By Induwara Athapattu