SJB expresses displeasure over Ranil’s appointment


Members of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) will not accept any ministerial portfolios in the new government led by President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, SJB General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara says.

Speaking at a media briefing today (13), he said the request to appoint Ranil Wickremesinghe as the Prime Minister was made by former Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and former Ministers Namal Rajapaksa and Basil Rajapaksa.

“So today Ranil is not the Prime Minister to protect the people, but the Prime Minister to protect the Rajapaksa family.”

The General Secretary said the 10 political parties that quit the previous government and became independent have decided to remain in the opposition and function as an independent group.

“The majority is here. None of these groups have thus far said that they support Ranil Wickremesinghe.”

Stating that Wickremesinghe does not hold a 113-seat majority in Parliament, MP Bandara said the Prime Minister is solely dependent on the support of the Rajapaksas and the MPs of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP).

He added that Wickremesinghe sabotaged the “golden opportunity” to build a government free of political corruption and the privileges of ministers.