Debate on NCM against President on 17 May


The No-Confidence Motion (NCM) against President Gotabaya Rajapaksa will be debated in Parliament on next Tuesday (17). The motion was presented by Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB)

This was decided at Party Leaders’ meeting held last afternoon (12), chaired by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena. The previous Parliamentary session held 6 May was abruptly adjourned after a heated argument broke out over Police firing tear gas and water cannons at the ‘Horu Go Gama’ protest in Diyatha Uyana, Battaramulla. Meanwhile, the Speaker said that parliamentary sitting on 17 May would be held as planned.

The party leaders met for the second consecutive day to discuss possible solutions to the current crises as the meeting on Wednesday (11) ended in a stalemate.

By Methmalie Dissanayake