Ministry work at standstill


With the automatic dissolution of the Cabinet following former PM Mahinda Rajapaksa’s resignation, all Ministry work has come to a standstill at the time of writing.

Informed sources said that this is due to previous Ministry Secretaries also losing their posts following the previous Cabinet’s dissolution.

However, the President has reappointed Retired General Kamal Guneratne as the Secretary of the Ministry of Defence, Retired Major General Jagath Alwis as the Secretary to the Ministry of Public Security and K. M. Mahinda Siriwardene as the Secretary to the Treasury.

It is also reported that until a new Prime Minister and Cabinet are sworn in, the former Ministry Secretaries intend to petition the President to allow them to continue working in their previous positions to carry out the day-to-day operations of their respective Ministries.

By J.T.De Silva