St. Servatius Matara emerge champs


St. Servatius College Matara emerged champions of the inaugural Kapila Jayalath Memorial Under-15 Southern Schools Cricket Tournament at the Public grounds Ambalangoda yesterday, when they beat Rahula College Matara by 21 runs in the final. St. Servatius scored 68 runs for 1 wicket in 5 overs, and Rahula replied with 47 runs for 2 wickets in 5 overs. 24 schools (divided into 8-member teams as Divisions 1, 2 and 3) from the Southern Region participated in this tournament, which was conducted on a knock-out basis as a five over per side contest. Southern Province Cricket Umpires Association together with Southern Province Cricket Association and Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association (SLSCA) conducted the tournament in memory of late Kapila Jayalath, who was the former Secretary of SLSCA and Secretary of the Association of Cricket Umpires in Sri Lanka (ACUSL).

Kapila was a dedicated school cricket and Umpires Association official and worked hard to promote the game.

In the semi-final, St. Servatius beat Devapathiraja Rathgama and Rahula beat Sri Sumangala Hikkaduwa.

Vidyaraja National School was adjudicated up and coming team. They beat Sri Devananda Ambalangoda and St. Thomas Matara in the series, before losing to Devapathiraja.

St. Servatius opener Viran Chamuditha scored 99 runs in 5 innings with 4 not outs. He scored an unbeaten 41 in the final, and was adjudicated Best All-rounder and man of the final.

Upul Tharanga former SL Cricket Captain participated as the chief guest at the awards ceremony. Thilak Waththuhewa, President of the SLSCA and Principal of Nalanda Colombo, Nayani, Malhari and Dilhari Jayalath participated as special guests.

Jagath Senarathne, Vice President of SLSCA and Principal of P. De S. Kularathne Ambalangoda, Saman Hewawitharana, Assignment Secretary of ACUSL, Y. Nishantha Kumara, U-19 Tournament Secretary of SLSCA, Viraj Chaminda de Silva, Technical Officer of SLSCA, Jagath Premachandra, Secretary of SL Cricket Scorers Association, Sisira Prabod Silva, Assignment Secretary of ACUSL (Kalutara Branch), Aruna Jayasekara (President of ACUSL – Southern Branch), Saman Mohan (Secretary of ACUSL -Southern), Sarath Shantha and Arunakantha participated at the awards ceremony.

Teams: Amarasooriya Vidyalaya Meepawala, St. Aloysius Galle, Sri Devanananda Ambalangoda, Devapathiraja Rathgama, Dharmasoka Ambalangoda, Karandeniya CC, P. de S. Kularatne Ambalangoda, Mahinda Galle, Rahula Matara, Revatha Balapitiya, Richmond Galle, St. Servatius Matara, St. Thomas Matara, Vidyaloka Galle, Batapola MMV, Gamini MMV Bentota, Madampa MMV, Sri Sumangala MMV Hikkaduwa, Upananda Vidyalaya Manawila, Vidyaraja Vidyalaya Thawalama, Saralankara Vidyalaya Gonapinuwala, Sri Sumangalodaya Vidyalaya Kalahe, All Saints Galle, Siri Dhamma Vidyalaya Galle.

In the final

St. Servatius: 68/1 (5) (Viran Chamuditha 41 n.o., Risinu Kithnuka 11 n.o., Resali Wathvidu 1/9)

Rahula: 47/2 (5) (Janiru Thejana 18, Akash Ambepitiya 12, Viran Chamuditha 1/04, Hirusha Pramod 1/7)


Best all-rounder – Viran Chamuditha (St. Servatius)

Best Batter – Akash Ambepitiya (Rahula)

Best Fielder – Lakith Neminda (Sri Sumangala Hikkaduwa)

Best Bowler – Nadil Sandesh (Rahula)

Man of the final – Viran Chamuditha (St. Servatius)