Susal and Sachini crowned King and Queen


17-year-old FIDE Master Susal de Silva of Nalanda College, the reigning National Chess Champion, won the Sri Lanka National Chess Championship 2022 for the second successive, while four times Women’s National Champion, Women International Master Sachini Ranasinghe, won her fifth Women’s National Chess Championship title

Susal is one of the most promising chess players in the country. He maintained his lead from the beginning. He beat Ranindu Dilshan Liyanage in the 8th round which gave him the much-needed tie breaking points to win the National Chess Championship 2022 title, Trophy, the Gold Medal and cash award of Rs. 112,500/=.

On the way to the title Susal won 8 games, drew 4 games and lost one game to score 10 points out of 13 games.

Top seed FIDE Master Ranindu Dilshan Liyanage of Ananda College also scored 10 points out of 13 games, but had to settle for the Silver Medal and a cash award of Rs. 112,500/= due to less tie breaking points. Ranindu won 9 games, drew 2 games and lost 2 games.

FIDE Master Isuru Alahakoon of Sri Lanka Navy came in third with 8½ points out of 13 games to win the Bronze Medal and a cash award of Rs. 40,000/=.  Isuru won 7 games, drew 3 games and lost 3 games.

Thumula Kiriella of Maliyadeva College came fourth. He scored 8 points and received a cash award of Rs. 20,000/=.

Nabil Nazar Mohamed of Gateway College scored 7 ½ points to take 5th place and a cash award of Rs. 10,000/=.

 In the women’s event, Sachini scored 9 points out 13 games. She won 7 games, drew 4 games and lost 2 games to win the Trophy, Gold Medal and Rs. 100,000/= in cash.

Desandi Dihansa Gamage of Sirimavo Bandaranaike College won second place with 8 ½ points out of 13 games. She won 7 games, drew 3 games and lost 3 games to earn the Silver medal with Rs. 25,000/= in cash.

Janandani Abeysinghe of NSBM Green University came in third with 8 points. She won 7 games, drew 2 games and lost 4 games to clinch the Bronze Medal and Rs. 25,000/- in cash.

Pasindi Yathra Wijesuriya of Passed Pawn Chess Club scored 7 ½ points out of 13 games to earn 4th place with Rs. 15,000/-.

Minethma Lasandi Wickramasinghe and Wishwara Mapa scored 7 points, but Minethma won 5th place on a better tie breaker.

The top five players in both events have been selected to the Sri Lanka National Open and Women Chess Teams and will participate in the FIDE Chess Olympiad 2022 in India.

The Golden Jubilee year Sri Lanka National Chess Championships 2022 – Open & Women’s – was conducted by the Chess Federation of Sri Lanka with a cash fund of half a million. The best 14 players of each section competed for supremacy on a round robin system comprising 13 rounds.

The Awards Ceremony was held on 1 May at Hotel Taj Samudra after the final round. Luxman Wijesuriya, President CFSL and General Secretary of the Commonwealth Chess Association and Mr. Wong, Deputy General Manager (Product) of SLT Mobitel (the Main Sponsor) distributed the awards. (IR)