Independent Group to support NCM


The group of independent MPs have agreed to support the No-Confidence Motion tabled by the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB).

The decision was made following a meeting held in Colombo this afternoon (07), Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) MP Mahinda Amaraweera said.

While proposals for the appointment of an executive council through which a Prime Minister, Cabinet of Ministers, and Secretaries of Ministries were tabled today, Amaraweera noted that a decision pertaining to the nomination of an individual to the post of Prime Minister is yet to be reached.

The independent group consists of nearly 40 MPs from the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), and the 11 constituent parties of the Government.