PCHP approves six names


Two Secretaries to Ministries, a Secretary to State Ministry and three Ambassadors received the approval of the Parliamentary Committee on High Posts (PCHP) yesterday (5), Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake said. This approval was granted by the Committee on High Posts chaired by Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.  Accordingly, Jayantha Michael de Silva, Secretary to the Ministry of Technology, D.M.L. Bandaranayake, Secretary to the Ministry of Agriculture and Major General (Retd.) W.P.P. Fernando and Secretary to the State Ministry of Disaster Management were given this approval.

In addition, the decision of the Foreign Ministry to appoint Savitri Panabokke as the new Ambassador of Sri Lanka to the Republic of Korea was approved by the Parliamentary Committee.

Approval was granted to appoint Ahmed Lebbe Sabarullah Khan as the new Ambassador of
Sri Lanka to the Sultanate of Oman and to appoint S.H.U. Dissanayake as the new Ambassador to the Republic of Turkey.

Minister Vidura Wickramanayake, MPs Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Dharmalingam Siddharthan and Dr. Sudarshani Fernandopulle were also present at this Committee Meeting.