Vote on new Dy Speaker today


Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena informed Parliament yesterday (4), that a vote to elect a new Deputy Speaker will be held today (5).

The Speaker made this remark in response to a question raised by Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella.

Both the Government and Opposition are expected to name nominees for the Deputy Speaker position.

When the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) decided to remain independent in Parliament last month, Siyambalapitiya informed the President that he would resign from the post. However, the President refused to accept the resignation, citing that parliamentary democracy needed to be maintained.

Following the President’s remarks, Siyambalapitiya said he would remain in the post until 30 April.

By Gagani Weerakoon and Methmalie Dissanayake