Only 65 Parliamentarians stand with the people – Shanakiyan


“Today, there are only 65 MPs standing for Sri Lanka”, Tamil National Alliance (TNA) MP Shanakiyan Rasamanickam said.

Speaking in Parliament this morning (05), Rasamanickam revealed that the vote held today concerning the appointment of a new Deputy Speaker drew the curtains on the drama being staged within Parliament.

During his speech, the Batticaloa district MP accused former Prime Minister and Leader of the United National Party (UNP) Ranil Wickremasinghe of approaching several Parliamentarians in an attempt to convince them to vote for Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, so as to support the Government.

Further, Shanakiyan condemned former President and Leader of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Maithripala Sirisena for re-nominating Siyambalapitiya, continuing to support the Government through his actions.

“The vote has exposed that there are only 65 Parliamentarians in support of Sri Lanka and its people. There are 148 MPs in Parliament who are in favour of the Rajapaksas and are attempting to save them,” he said.

“No matter what motion is presented to Parliament, including a No-Confidence Motion, these dramatists, thieves and liars in the Parliament will never vote against the Rajapaksas”, Rasamanickam added.

Commenting on this, Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Mujibur Rahman also expressed his views on Siyambalapitiya’s appointment.

He noted that despite several MPs having sat on the side of the Opposition during Parliament, they expressed their support towards the Government with their vote.

“People need to know about those who continue to protect and represent the Rajapaksa. This was revealed today”, he said.