Jaffna CC enter final for second successive year


Last year’s runner-up Jaffna Central College entered the final of the Under-19 Division Three Tier ‘A’ Inter Schools Limited Overs Cricket tournament for the second successive year, when they beat St. Mary’s College Matugama in the semi-final played at St. John’s College grounds yesterday.

St. Mary’s won the toss and elected to bat. They were bowled out for 178 runs in their 50 overs. Skipper Himesha Madubashana top scored with 53. Yasith Sathsara (37) and Hiran Lakshitha (24) helped to build their innings. Rajithkumar Newton claimed 4 wickets for 32 runs, while Nisanthan Ajay claimed 2 wickets for 35 runs.

 Jaffna Central scored 183 runs for 6 wickets in 41 overs. Ananthan Kajan scored an unbeaten 74 runs and Rajithkumar Newton followed up his 4 wickets with 45 runs. Isura Deshan claimed 2 for 22 runs.

In Panadura (Jaffna CC won by 4 wickets)

St. Mary’s: 178 (50) (Himesha Madubashana 53, Yasith Sathsara 37, Hiran Lakshitha 24, Rajithkumar Newton 4/32, Nisanthan Ajay 2/35)

Jaffna Central: 183/6 (41) (Ananthan Kajan 74 n.o., Rajithkumar Newton 45, Isura Deshan 2/22)