SJB hands two NCMs to Speaker


The Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) submitted two No-Confidence Motions (NCM) to Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena yesterday (3), against President Gotabaya Rajapaksa and the Government.

Opposition Leader Sajith Premadasa handed the motions to the Speaker.

The motions were signed by 50 MPs.

Speaking to the media, Premadasa said with the NCMs, the people can identify the MPs who are actually accountable to the public.  According to reports, an NCM against the President is symbolic and not legally binding. 

SJB General Secretary Ranjith Maddumabandara, Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella, MPs Imthiaz Bakir Markar, Gayantha Karunatileka, Eran Wickramaratne and Manusha Nanayakkara were present.

The NCM against the President cites 22 factors including the President admitting that he had made mistakes in imposing an immediate ban on chemical fertilisers and in delaying to seek the help of the International Monetary Fund and the Rambukkana shooting.

By Methmalie Dissanayake