Lanka Cavaliers win by 6 wickets


Lanka Cavaliers clinched the Jayalath Aponso Memorial Trophy, beating Moratuwa Masters by 6 wickets in their Masters 25 overs Cricket encounter, played at the Tyrone Fernando Stadium Moratuwa on 30 April. 

Taking first lease of the wicket, Moratuwa Masters opening pair Nilantha Bopage and Asela Fernando could not survive too long. A fine bowling performance by Ravi Subasinghe saw him capturing the first wicket, while Chaminda Rajapaksha scalped the second to have the Moratuwa Masters in all kinds of trouble at 2 wickets down for 15 runs. Ravi Subasinghe continued to torment the batters in his spell and grabbed two more vital wickets to have them reeling at 4 down for 67 runs. One down batter Nisal Fernando was joined by Chandana Mahesh and the pair got the score moving. With the dismissal of Nisal for 33 runs, Chandana took up the challenge and stroked an elegant and well compiled 55 not out to get them to a reasonable target.

The game was also a farewell to stalwarts Rupanath Wickramaratne and Daya Sirisena. Rupanath had to retire after scoring just 4 runs and Daya was out for 2 runs off the bowling of Carman Mapatuna. Daya however, managed to capture a wicket in his last game.

Lanka Cavaliers lost their first wicket at 24 and the second at 46. Carman Mapatuna joined opener Varuna Waragoda and the pair added a valuable 68 runs for the third wicket. Varuna’s magnificent innings finally came to an end when he was run out for 54 runs. Carman, with a splendid knock of 29 not out, and Sampath Wickramarachchi then guided their team to reach the target in 22.4 overs to give Lanka Cavaliers a well-deserved win.

Moratuwa Masters: 130/8 (25) (Nisal Fernando 33, Chandana Mahesh 55 not out, Ravi Subasinghe 3/13, Carman Mapatuna 2/07)

Lanka Cavaliers: 133/4 (22.5) (Varuna Waragoda 54, Carman Mapatuna 29 not out)

By M.H. Yakeem