Five-member group to study maiden report


The Cabinet has given its approval to appoint a five-member Cabinet sub-committee to study the preliminary report compiled by the Expert Committee to draft a new Constitution and make appropriate amendments.

The sub-committee consists of Prof. G.L. Peiris (Chairman) – Minister of Foreign Affairs, Dinesh Gunawardena – Minister of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government, Douglas Devananda – Minister of Fisheries, Dr. Ramesh Pathirana– Minister of Education and Plantation Industries and Ali Sabri– Minister of Finance and Justice.

The Cabinet on 20 September 2020 decided to appoint a committee of legal experts, chaired by President’s Counsel Romesh de Silva, to draft a new Constitution.

The preliminary report of the committee was submitted to the President on 25 April 2022.