SJB to present NCM, impeachment in House


The No-Confidence Motion (NCM) against the Government and the impeachment motion against the President are due to be presented in Parliament on Wednesday (4), Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Hesha Vithanage said.

Speaking to the Media after an SJB meeting, Vithanage assured that the identities of those who signed, and did not sign the NCM will be revealed to the public and that the facade carried out by those MPs who recently withdrew from Government declaring that they were independent will also be revealed.

Last month, Leader of the Pivithuru Hela Urumaya (PHU) and former Minister Udaya Gammanpila stated that nearly 125 MPs had pledged their support towards the NCM.

Speaking to the media, Gammanpila noted that currently, 125 MPs are of the view that the present administration should resign, adding that he is confident that other MPs of the SLPP too will support the NCM.

By Rebecca Pavey