SLPP agrees to establishment of Interim Govt


Both, present and former MPs of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) have conceptually agreed to the establishment of an Interim Government.

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa had met with representatives of the SLPP, and those MPs who recently declared themselves independent, having withdrawn themselves from the Government, this afternoon.

During the meeting at the President’s House, the SLPP had conceptually agreed to an all-party Interim Government.

Speaking to media afterwards, SLPP General Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam stated that the decision was reached considering the views and proposals tabled by the Chief Prelates, Cardinal Malcolm Ranjith and other social and religious groups.

MPs Nimal Siripala de Silva, Anura Priyadharashana Yapa, Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila and Tiran Alles represented the group of independent parliamentarians, while the SLPP was represented by Prof. G.L. Peiris, Sagara Kariyawasam, Sanjeeva Edirimanna, Ramesh Pathirana and Former Finance Minister Basil Rajapaksa.