NCM, Impeachment motion to be tabled on Wednesday


The no-confidence motion against the Government, and the impeachment motion against the President are due to be presented in Parliament on Wednesday (04), Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Hesha Vithanage said.

Speaking to the media after an SJB meeting, Vithanage assured that the identities of those who both signed, and did not sign the no-confidence motion will be revealed to the public, and that the facade carried out by those Parliamentarians who recently withdrew from the Government, declaring themselves independent, too, will be revealed.

Last month, Leader of the Pivithuru Hela Urumaya (PHU) political party and former Minister Udaya Gammanpila stated that nearly 125 MPs had pledged their support towards the NCM.

Speaking to media, Gammanpila noted that currently, 125 MPs are of the view that the present administration should resign, adding that he is confident that other MPs belonging to the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) too, will support the NCM.