President extends invitation to all parties


President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has extended an invitation to form an all-party Government comprising all political parties represented in Parliament.

The President conveyed this at a discussion held at the President’s House on Friday (29 April) with party leaders and representatives who are now acting independently in Parliament.

Attention was drawn to the need to form a National Consensus Government for continuity and to appoint a National Council with the participation of party leaders as its initial step.

The President said he would agree to the points contained in the common proposal presented by the party representatives if all political parties supported it.

It was also decided to nominate five representatives from among those who took part in the discussion, to take forward the mechanism of forming an all-party government.

Discussions were held on formulating a systematic programme after obtaining the views of other political parties in Parliament, including the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna.

Former President Maithripala Sirisena, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Susil Premajayantha, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila, Mahinda Amaraweera, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, Tissa Vitarana, W.D.J. Seneviratne, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera, Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Nimal Lanza, Jayantha Samaraweera, Jayarathna Herath, Tiran Alles, Jagath Pushpakumara, Nalin Fernando, M.M. Athaullah, Gevindu Kumaratunga, Weerasumana Weerasinghe, and Asanka Navarathna were present at the discussion.