Independent MPs to meet President


The 11 constituent parties and the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), who recently withdrew from the Government, have conditionally agreed to meet with President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Accordingly, 40 independent Members of Parliament have decided to meet with the President on the condition that only President Rajapaksa is present at the meeting, excluding Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa and the Cabinet of Ministers.

The decision was taken upon consideration of the ongoing crisis in Sri Lanka, SLFP General Secretary Dayasiri Jayasekara said, adding that the meeting is scheduled to take place tomorrow (29).