120 MPs to support NCM – Gammanpila


A total of 120 MPs have pledged to support the no-confidence motion (NCM) against the Government, former Minister and leader of the Pivithuru Hela Urumaya (PHU) Udaya Gammanpila said.

Speaking to media, Gammanpila noted that currently, 120 MPs are of the view that the present administration should resign, adding that he is confident that other MPs belonging to the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) too, will support the NCM.

He added that the NCM will be presented in Parliament this week by the 11 constituent parties and the 42 independent MPs, if the Government does not resign.

The draft NCM has already been sent to the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB), Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) and the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), Gammanpila said.