Minute’s silence observed in the House


A minute’s silence was observed in Parliament yesterday morning (21), in memory of the victims of the Easter Sunday terror attacks in 2019.

This was following a request made by Opposition Leader, Sajith Premadasa.

Premadasa said, “Our MP Hector Appuhamy earlier presented a proposal to observe a minute’s silence today. I request once again for a minute’s silence in memory of the Easter Sunday terror attack victims. In the past, MP Wimal Weerawansa requested for a minute’s silence in the Chamber following the demise of a Mahanayaka Thera. When I requested the same after the demise of the Mahanayaka Thera of the Ramanna Nikaya, the request was rejected. However, since this is a sensitive matter, I request that we observe a minute’s silence for the victims.”

The Samagi Jana Balawegaya MPs came to the Chamber attired in black in memory of the victims.

BY Gagani Weerakoon and Methmalie Dissanayake