Unbeaten St Peter’s emerge champions


Unbeaten St. Peter’s College Bambalapitiya emerged champion of the Under-19 Division One Tier ‘B’ Inter Schools Cricket Tournament when they beat Thurstan Colombo by three wickets in the final at Police Park yesterday.

The match got off to a late start due to wet outfield and was reduced to 26 overs. 

Thurstan taking first lease of the wicket scored 131 runs with skipper Bawantha Jayasinghe top scoring with 53.

In the run chase St. Peter’s were guided by useful knocks from deputy skipper Lahiru Dawatage and Danal Hemananda, which helped them to reach the target in the 24th over.

At Police Park (St Peter’s won by three wickets) 

Thurstan: 131 (26) (Bawantha Jayasinghe 53, Tharindu Harshana 21, Thenuka Devapriya 20 n.o., Abishek Wellalage 3/19, Shenon Rodrigo 2/16)

St. Peter’s: 136/7 (23.4) (Lahiru Dawatage 43, Danal Hemananda 36 n.o., Wanuja Sahan 18, Niman Umesh 16 n. o., Nipun Premaratne 5/34)  (IR)