Prasanna Ranatunga assumes duties as Chief Government Whip


Minister of Public Security and Tourism, Prasanna Ranatunga, assumed duties as the Chief Government Whip in Parliament yesterday morning (19).

Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena, Minister of Education and Plantation Ramesh Pathirana, Minister of Mass Media Dr. Nalaka Godahewa, State Ministers Indika Anuruddha, Piyal Nishantha, Sahan Pradeep Vithana, Milan Jayatilake, Upul Mahendra Rajapaksa and several Ministers and MPs were present. After assuming duties Ranatunga said, his intention was to serve in accordance with the Constitution, while also protecting parliamentary traditions. He also pointed out that the Government is taking all possible steps to move forward while maintaining the confidence of the people.

Meanwhile, Gunawardena has been appointed as the Leader of the House in the Second Session of the Ninth Parliament with effect from 18 April, the Speaker announced in Parliament yesterday (19). (MD)