39 independent MPs sit on Opposition side


By Methmalie Dissanayake

Thirty-nine (39) MPs, including former President Maithripala Sirisena, Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila and Vasudeva Nanayakkara, who decided to function independently in Parliament, sat on the Opposition side of the Chamber yesterday (19).

After sitting on the Opposition side, Sirisena said this was a watershed moment in Parliament.

“We decided to sit on the Opposition side as an independent group, giving an ear to the voice of citizens. However, we will function as an independent group,” he said. 

Speaking further, Sirisena said the protests of the youth were justified, given their immense suffering. “We understand their agony. Changing Cabinet Ministers will not address these crises. The people are demanding the Government to resign,” Sirisena added.