Imran urges Sajith not to nominate them


By Naalir Jamaldeen

Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP M. Imran said he had written to Party Leader Sajith Premadasa requesting that those MPs who had voted in favour of the Government, to pass the 20th Amendment to the Constitution not be given nomination at future elections. 

In the letter, Imran has said that with the exception of the leaders of their constituent parties, who contested under the telephone symbol, the Government continues to violate their Parties’ policies.

He went on to say that Muslim MPs, who ran for office promising to fight for their community’s fundamental rights, betrayed them after being elected, and that they are now aiding and abetting the Government in mismanagement.

This country’s Muslim community is in the same boat. As a result, the Party Leader should take the necessary action in this regard, Imran added.