Sunrisers hand Titans their first defeat


Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) won their second game on the bounce in the TATA Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 after defeating the Gujarat Titans (GT) by 8 wickets on Monday at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.  

Kane Williamson led from the front with a well-crafted 57, which was well supported by Abhishek Sharma’s 42 at the top as SRH chased down the target of 163 with 5 balls to spare. Sharma was caught at deep mid-wicket by Sudharsan for 42 off Rashid Khan and SRH were 75-1. While the boundaries weren’t coming, Williamson and Tripathi kept the runs ticking. 

SRH required 65 off the final seven overs but lost Tripathi who had to retire hurt after being in discomfort. SRH skipper hit a maximum to get to his fifty, but was caught at long-on by Tewatia in the 17th over. 

With 28 required off the final three overs, Pooran smacked a six and a four under pressure to bring the equation down to only 13 required from 12 deliveries. Pooran sealed the chase with a six as SRH reached the target with five balls to spare. 

Earlier, Gujarat Titans were asked to bat first with both teams remaining unchanged.  

GT openers – Shubman Gill and Mathew Wade raced to 24/0 in the first two overs before Rahul Tripathi took a spectacular diving catch inside the circle to dismiss Gill in the 3rd over.

Wade, on the other end, got to a good start with 3 fours but SRH scalped their second wicket after Sai Sudharsan was caught at mid-off by Williamson off Natarajan.  GT were 51-2 after 6 overs. GT were 80-3 at the halfway mark after pacer Umran Malik trapped Wade LBW. Jansen broke the steady partnership between Miller and Pandya after Miller was caught at mid-wicket by Abhishek Sharma. New batter Abhinav Manohar hit consecutive fours against Malik as GT were 118-4 with five overs to go. Manohar was striking the ball cleanly and was lucky to be dropped twice, but was finally dismissed after Tripathi held on to a catch in the deep.  Natarajan conceded only 7 runs in the final over as SRH scalped two wickets and GT ended the first innings with a total of 162-7. 

Brief scores: 

Gujarat Titans: 162-7 (Hardik Pandya 50*, Abhinav Manohar 35; T Natarajan 2-34) 

SRH: 168-2 (Kane Williamson 57, Nicholas Pooran 34*; Hardik 

Pandya 1-27)