Dr. Nandalal Weerasinghe, Dhammika Perera to get new posts?


Former Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka Dr. Nandalal Weerasinghe will soon be appointed as the new Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL), government sources said.

Meanwhile, former Justice Minister Ali Sabry has been appointed as the new Minister of Finance.

It has also been proposed to appoint Dhammika Perera, a well-known businessman, as the new Secretary to the Ministry of Finance. 

CBSL Governor Ajith Nivard Cabraal has sent his resignation letter to the President today. 

Accordingly, the rest of the members of the Monetary Board except member Sanjeewa Jayawardena will vacate their Monetary Board membership shortly.