JUST IN: Entire Cabinet resigns


All Cabinet Ministers have decided to resign from their portfolios.

Accordingly, all Cabinet Ministers, except Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, have decided to abandon their Ministerial portfolios.

The move comes amidst several requests made by political parties, including the 11 constituent parties, that an Interim Government be appointed as a solution to the ongoing crisis.

Earlier today (03), Prime Minister Rajapaksa met with representatives of the 11 constituent parties, including former Ministers  Wimal Weerawansa and Udaya Gammanpila, Minister of Water Supply Vasudeva Nanayakkara and MP Tiran Alles, during which the proposal of an Interim Government was tabled.

The Premier later met with President Gotabaya Rajapaksa. 

A Cabinet meeting was held following a discussion between the two parties, during which all Cabinet Ministershanded over their resignation letters to the Premier himself.

Namal Rajapaksa too, resigned from his portfolios as the Minister of Youth & Sports, Minister of Development Co-ordination and Monitoring and State Minister of Digital Technology and Enterprise Development, a short while ago.