Delegation visits Parliament


A delegation of France-Sri Lanka Parliamentary Friendship Group, led by its President, Senator Joel Guerriau, made a special visit to Parliament recently. Vice President of the France-Sri Lanka Friendship Group, Senator Annik Jacquemet, Member of the group, Senator Alain Houpert, and Executive Secretary, Anne Laure, were also present.

The delegation also joined to witness the Parliamentary sitting from the Speaker’s Gallery. Angajan Ramanathan, Deputy Chairman of Committees, made a special announcement to the House welcoming the delegation to Parliament. A special meeting was then held between the Parliamentary Friendship Associations of the two countries. Ramanathan said Sri Lanka and France look forward to further enhancing strong relations that have existed for over seven decades. He also expressed his gratitude for the significant role played by the French Development Agency (AFD) in providing development assistance to Sri Lanka.

Senator Guerriau said he hopes to strengthen bilateral relations between France and Sri Lanka in various fields and will continue to contribute to the development of Sri Lanka. He also invited a delegation including the Speaker to visit France. 

Ambassador of France in Sri Lanka Eric Lavertu, Secretary of the Sri Lanka-France Parliamentary Friendship Association, Parliamentarian Isuru Dodangoda, State Minister Tharaka Balasuriya, Parliamentarians J.C. Alawathuwala, Yadamini Gunawardena, Geetha Kumarasinghe, Diana Gamage, Aravindh Kumar, Hector Appuhamy, Kokila Gunawardena, Major Sudarshana Denipitiya, Wasantha Yapa Bandara, Premnath C. Dolawatte and Madhura Withanage, Chief of Staff and Deputy Secretary-General of Parliament Kushani Rohanadeera were also present.